Three Affiliated Tribes Logo

Three Affiliated Tribes
Environmental Division of the Natural Resources Department




Edmund Baker: Director of the Three Affiliated Tribes Environmental Division. BIO


The mission of the Three Affiliated Tribes Environmental Division is to protect the health of our people through monitoring, assessing, and addressing all impacts to the water, land, and air. Our approach incorporates the unique cultural values of the Hidatsa, Nueta, and Sahnish people while implementing the technical scientific protocols necessary to keep our land healthy.


As part of the surface water sampling trip during June 20-22, 2016, the U.S. Geological Survey provided water-quality training to Three Affiliated Tribes field personnel. In the attached photo (L-R), Kevin Baker, U.S. Geological Survey, is providing detailed instruction on calibrating multi-meter instrumentation (pH, specific conductance, dissolved oxygen, and turbidity) to Mary Iorio and Kiesha Clark of the Three Affiliated Tribes. Additional training consisted of collecting and processing water-quality samples, and streamflow measurements.



• November 3, 2016- Recently the TAT Water Quality Staff produced a YouTube video on how to
     package samples for shipment to the Region 8 Laboratory in Golden CO. The link to the video can
     be found here.

• August 2, 2016-

    Environmental staff received a report of a sheen underneath the east side of the Four Bears Bridge this     morning. ED staff investigated this report finding no evidence of an oil sheen or other environmental     hazard to the Missouri River/Lake Sakakawea. We would like to thank the public for reporting this to our     staff; if you see anything similar to this please call our office at 701-627-4569.

    Mary Iorio
    Water Quality Coor.
    Cell: 701-421-7436
    Office: 701-627-6124

• Bacteria are killing rainbow smelt in upper Lake Sakakawea (read article here).


Three Affiliated Tribes
Environmental Division
Fort Berthold Indian Reservation
Mailing: 404 Frontage Road
Location: TERO/Energy Building
305 4th Avenue, Suite 1300
New Town, ND 58763 
Phone: (701) 627-4569
Fax: (701) 627-2917