Departments> MHA Education Department      
  MHA Education Department      
  Education Philosophy      
    • We believe life is sacred.  
    • We believe education is life and learning is lifelong.  
    • We believe life is to live in harmony with the Great Spirit, self, family, clan, members of the human race  
         andall living things.  
    • We believe that the strength and survival of our tribal nation depends on the nurturing of our history,  
         languages, culture, social and spiritual knowledge.  
    • We believe in the sacred circle of all things to ensure unity, strength, progress and positive life  
    • We believe, further, that the strength and survival of our tribal nation depends on acquiring knowledge
         and skills to compete and co-exist with other nations and cultures.  
    • We believe in respect for each individual and the individual efforts of every child, adolescent, adult,  
         and elder.  
    • We believe in the need for family, clan and community efforts to accomplish our goals to help the  
         peopleto achieve a better life.  
    Education Mission  
      The Three Affiliated Tribes – Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara will provide leadership in the development of individual and community responsibility and
      accountability to ensure that all Tribal Members – the unborn to adult – will obtain the intellectual, cultural, social, spiritual and physical development
      necessary to be a self-sufficient, productive and contributing member of the nation.
      Enactment: June 17, 1992  
      Tribal Business Council    
         Wilbur Wilkinson, Ivan Johnson, John “Jack” Rabbithead, Jr., Roger Bird Bear, Austin Gillette, Jim Mossett, George Fast Dog.
         Authored By:  Bernadine Young Bird – Education Department Administrator    
  Contact Information        
    Mailing Address:  
    MHA Education Department  
    404 Frontage Road  
    New Town, ND 58763  
    Physical Address:  
    MHA Education Department  
    354 Main Street  
    New Town, ND 58763  
    Telephone: 701-627-4113  
    Fax: 701-627-4935 Damon Brady Benita Spotted Elk  
    Acting Chief Education Administrator Executive Secretary  
     Telephone: 701-627-4113 Ext. 12 Telephone: 701-627-4113 Ext. 10  
    Cell Phone:701-421-7150 Fax:701-627-4935  
  Upcoming Events  
  Check back for upcoming events.  
  The MHA Science Fair was held on Friday, December 14, 2012 at the Northern Lights Community Building. There was a total of 175 participants. We would like to extend a big thanks to the Child Program, Fort Berthold Community College Science Program and the Boys & Girls Club.  
  May 2012 Community Education Forums Photos  
  Education Department Photos  
Three Affiliated Tribes
404 Frontage Road
New Town, ND 58763