Resolution # 98-____-DSB Page 1 of 2

RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES OF THE FORT BERTHOLD RESERVATION

- WHEREAS, This Nation having accepted the Indian Reorganization Act of June 18, 1934, and the authority under said Act; and
- **WHEREAS**, The Constitution of the Three Affiliated Tribes generally authorizes and empowers the Tribal Business Council to engage in activities on behalf of and in the interest of the welfare and benefit of the Tribes and the enrolled members thereof; and
- **WHEREAS,** Title I, Chapter I, Section 4.2 of the Fort Berthold Tribal Code specifically authorizes the Tribal Business Council to appoint four attorneys to serve in the capacity as associate judge(s) for calendar year, 1998; and
- WHEREAS, The Judiciary Committee of the Three Affiliated Tribes on December 17, 1997, unanimously approved the following four individuals for submittal to the Full Council: (1) Diane Zephier; (2) B.J. Jones; (3) Dean Winkjer; and (4) Terry Pechota; and
- **WHEREAS,** It is the considered judgment of the Tribal Business Council that the Judiciary of the Three Affiliated Tribes retains professional judicial officers to uphold the laws and customs of the Tribe; and
- **WHEREAS,** The above named individuals are licensed professional attorneys and have experience in the area of federal Indian law and with tribal judicial forums; and
- NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, The Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes hereby appoints **Diane Zephier**, **B.J. Jones**, **Dean Winkjer**, and Terry Pechota to serve as Associate Judges for the Three Affiliated Tribes for calendar year, 1998.
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** That the Judiciary Committee, at their next regularly scheduled meeting, shall set-up a rotating system for the Associate Judges and shall determine their rate of pay.
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, The Tribal Business Council hereby directs the Fort Berthold District Court to prepare the appropriate consultant agreements for the respective judges identified hereinabove.

Resolution No. 98- 04 Page 2 of 2 DSB

CERTIFICATION

I, the undersigned, as Secretary of the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, hereby certify that the Tribal Business Council is composed of 7 members of whom 5 constitute a quorum, 7 were present at a Regular Meeting thereof duly called, noticed, convened, and held on the <u> $13^{\underline{n}}$ </u> day of <u> $\overline{13^{\underline{n}}}$ day of <u> $\overline{13^{\underline{n}}}$ </u>, 1998; that the foregoing Resolution was duly adopted at such Meeting by the affirmative vote of <u> $6^{\underline{n}}$ members</u>, <u> $0^{\underline{n}}$ members opposed</u>,</u> *o* members abstained, / members not voting, and that said Resolution has not been rescinded or amended in any way.

Dated this <u>13</u>th day of <u>January</u>, 1998.

Daylon Spotter Blas Secretary, Tribal Business Council

ATTEST:

Chairman, Tribal Business Council