RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES OF THE FORT BERTHOLD INDIAN RESERVATION

- WHEREAS, This Nation having accepted the Indian Reorganization Act of June 18, 1934, and the authority under said Act; and
- WHEREAS, The Constitution of the Three Affiliated Tribes generally authorizes and empowers the Tribal Business Council to engage in activities on behalf of and in the interest of the welfare and benefits of the Tribes and of the enrolled members thereof.
- WHEREAS, The Fort Berthold Indian Reservation is comprised of parts of six North Dakota Counties: Mountrail, McKenzie, McLean, Dunn and Ward Counties; and
- WHEREAS. During the growing season just, past, rancher and farmers who are Tribal members or who rent or lease Tribal lands on the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation have suffered unprecedented losses to crops and to pastures, including those that produce hay, as a result of hail, wind and excess rain, and
- WHEREAS, Such a disaster as has occurred within the previous eight months has created a number of ranch and farm operators who will fail and go out of business without substantial assistance from local, Tribal, and Federal government; and
- NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Tribal Business Council hereby declares the following counties that are within the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation as disaster areas: Mercer, Mountrail, McLean, McKenzie, and Dunn Counties; and
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Tribal Business Council hereby requests the Secretary of Interior to work with the Secretary of Agriculture to implement the Indian Acute Distress Donation Program for eligible farmers, ranchers and other persons affected by the unusual and damaging weather, and that such a declaration as is made herein be used as may be necessary to secure disaster relief for all eligible persons within the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation.

Resolution No. <u>96-206-D58</u> Page Two Feed Grain Program

CERTIFICATION

I, the undersigned, as Secretary of the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation, hereby certify that the Tribal Business Council is composed of seven members of whom five constitute a quorum, were present at a Meeting, thereof duly called, noticed, convened, and held on the Detober, 1996; that the foregoing Resolution was duly adopted at such meeting by the affirmative vote of members, members opposed, members abstaining, members not voting, and that said Resolution has not been rescinded or amended in any way.
Chairman (volting) (not voting) Dated this, 1996.
Dated this 10th day of October, 1996.

Daylon Spotted Blas Secretary, Tribal Business Council

Chairman, Tribal Business Council

ATTEST