RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES OF THE FORT BERTHOLD RESERVATION

- WHEREAS, This Nation having accepted the Indian Reorganization Act of June 18, 1934, and the authority under said Act; and
- WHEREAS, The Constitution of the Three Affiliated Tribes generally authorizes and empowers the Tribal Business Council to engage in activities on behalf of and in the interest of the welfare and benefit of the Tribes and of the enrolled members thereof; and
- WHEREAS, a significant number of enrolled members of the Three Affiliated Tribes receive services from the New Town Ambulance Service District, a totally volunteer service providing ambulance service within the northwestern quarter of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation and other parts of Mountrail and McKenzie Counties in north western North Dakota; and
- WHEREAS, the service provided by New Town Ambulance Service District means travelling long distances on lightly travelled two-lane roads to arrive at a hospital or to pick up persons needing medical services, often in hazardous weather conditions;
- WHEREAS, in recent years, approximately 70% of the persons served by the New Town Ambulance Service District have been enrolled members of the Three Affiliated Tribes;
- WHEREAS, the New Town Ambulance Service District has, on occasion, served persons outside of their normal service area on the west side of Lake Sakakawea, including persons in the Mandaree area; and
- WHEREAS, the cost of operating the ambulance service, including the cost of purchase of a new ambulance from time to time, and the cost of obtaining a building to house the ambulances and other vehicles, has not been met totally by insurance and other payments for services rendered, a mill levy from Mountrail County and other contributions;
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That pursuant to the attached Memorandum of Understanding and Agreement between the New Town Ambulance Service District and the Three Affiliated Tribes, and subject to the approval of the Memorandum of Understanding by the New Town Ambulance Service District, the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes authorizes a contribution to be made to the New Town Ambulance Service District of a maximum amount of

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING

between

Three Affiliated Tribes and New Town Ambulance Service District

This is a Memorandum of understanding and Agreement between the Three Affiliated Tribes, a Federally recognized Indian Tribe whose reservation is the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation, and the New Town Ambulance Service District, headquartered in New Town, North Dakota, which operates in part within the boundaries of the Reservation, for the provision of ambulance service.

RECITALS

WHEREAS, the New Town Ambulance Service District provides a totally volunteer ambulance service within South-Western Mountrail County, and parts of Eastern McKenzie County, in North Dakota;

WHEREAS, the service area of the New Town Ambulance Service District lies partly within the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation serving the members of the Three Affiliated Tribes as well as all other persons living in that area;

WHEREAS, the service provided by New Town Ambulance Service District means traveling long distances on lightly traveled two-lane roads to arrive at a hospital or to pick up persons needing medical services, often in hazardous weather conditions;

WHEREAS, in recent years, approximately 70% of the persons served by the New Town Ambulance Service District have been enrolled members of the Three Affiliated Tribes;

WHEREAS, the New Town Ambulance Service District has, on occasion, serviced person outside of their normal service area on the west side of Lake Sakakawea, including persons in the Mandaree area; and

WHEREAS, the cost of operating the ambulance service, including the cost of purchase of a new ambulance from time to time, and the cost of obtaining a building to house the ambulances and other vehicles, has not been met totally by insurance and other payments for services rendered, a mill levy from Mountrail County and other contributions;

NOW THEREFORE, the parties agree as follows:

- 1. The Three Affiliated Tribes acting through its Tribal Business Council, will contribute, for a one-year period a maximum amount of Fifteen Thousand Dollars (\$15,000.00) to the New Town Ambulance Service District.
- 2. The Three Affiliated Tribes will also provide assistance to the New Town Ambulance Service District with regard to increasing collections from the Indian Health Service (IHS) and other insurance providers, including, as necessary, assistance to the New Town Ambulance Service District in establishing a more efficient collection system.
- 3. The New Town Ambulance Service District will continue to provide service to areas west of Lake Sakakawea, outside of the boundaries outside its service area, as needed from time to time.
- 4. The New Town Ambulance Service District will continue to actively seek other sources of funding for its needs.
- 5. This Memorandum of Understanding and Agreement, and the contribution amount, will be reviewed in consultation with an annual basis by the Tribal Business Council's Human Services Committee, and a determination will then be made whether to recommend to the full Tribal Business Council that this agreement be renewed on the same or on other terms.

Dated this /5 day of March, 1996.

Duane Estvold, President

New Town Ambulance Service District

Russell D. Mason, Sr., Chairman

Three Affiliated Tribes

\$15,000 during the succeeding 12 months; and

- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Three Affiliated Tribes will, pursuant to the attached Memorandum of Understanding, and subject to the approval of the of the New Town Ambulance Service District, assist the New Town Ambulance Service District with collection efforts for services rendered, particularly with the Indian Health Service; and
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Tribal Business Council hereby authorizes the Tribal Chairman to execute the attached Memorandum of Understanding and Agreement between the New Town Ambulance Service District and the Three Affiliated Tribes.

CERTIFICATION

I, the undersigned, as Secretary of the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, hereby certify that the Tribal Business Council is composed of 7 members of whom 5 constitute a quorum, were present at a
Regular Meeting thereof duly called, noticed, convened, and
held on the day of, 1996; that the foregoing
Resolution was duly adopted at such Meeting by the affirmative vote of members, members opposed, members
abstained, not voting, and that said Resolution has not been rescinded or amended in any way.
Dated this 14th day of March, 1996.

Daylon Spotted Blas
Secretary, Tribal Business Council

ATTEST:

Chairman, Tribal Business Council