RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES OF THE FORT BERTHOLD RESERVATION

- WHEREAS, This Nation having accepted the Indian Reorganization Act of June 18, 1934, and the authority under said Act; and
- WHEREAS, The Constitution of the Three Affiliated Tribes generally authorizes and empowers the Tribal Business Council to engage in activities on behalf of and in the interest of the welfare and benefit of the Tribes and of the enrolled members thereof; and
- WHEREAS, The Tribal Business Council adopted the Tribal Tax Code in December of 1990 and staffing was completed in April of 1991; and
- WHEREAS, Full implementation of the Tribal Tax Code will require establishment of the Tax Commission as required in Sections 207 and 208 of that Code; and
- WHEREAS, Those Sections read as follows:

Section 207. Tax Commission Membership. The Tax Commission membership comprises of three (3) commissioners, at least two (2) of whom must be Tribal members residing within the Fort Berthold Reservation.

Section 208. Appointment of Tax Commissioners. Tax Commissioners are selected, confirmed, and appointed as follows:

- 1. Nomination. The Chairman of the Tribal Business Council will select and nominate three individuals qualified according to Section 207.
- 2. Confirmation. Upon confirmation by the Tribal Business Council, the nominee is appointed to serve as a Tax Commissioner.
- 3. Three Year Term. Each Tax Commissioner's term of Office will be three (3) years, except that:
 - a. In order to establish staggered terms among the members of the initial group of appointees, one will be appointed for one (1) year, one for two (2) years, and one for three (3) years.

THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES TRIBAL BUSINESS COUNCIL CHAIRMAN'S OFFICE

Special Meeting July 3, 1991

PRESENT: Wilbur D. Wilkinson, Chairman; Titus Hall, Vice-Chairman; John J. Rabbithead, Jr., Secretary; Roger Bird Bear, Treasurer; Jim Mossett, Councilmember and LaVerne Brady, Recording Secretary.

ABSENT: Theodore Lone Fight, III., and Austin Gillette, Councilmembers

OTHERS: Karen Stevens, Public Relations Consultant.

ITEM 01: CALL TO ORDER:

Meeting called to order at 3:38 PM.

ITEM 02: ROLL CALL:
Roll called by Secretary Rabbithead. Quorum established.

ITEM 03: RESERVATION PROGRAM OFFICE CONTRACTING: Res. #106.
This is on element 71 discussed with Dr. Jaeger to contract the Agency BIA Reservation Program Office.

Vice Chairman Hall made a motion for approval, seconded by Secretary Rabbithead.

Discussion: Chairman Wilkinson discussed the contracting of the Program with BIA Area Director, Jerry Jaeger and Acting Superintendent, Terry Walters and all that was needed was a Tribal Resolution and application. Councilman Mossett felt that as long as Twin Buttes is included. Ken Deane is putting the proposal together and will tie in with Comprehensive Management.

Vote: 4 for, 0 opposed, 1 abstained. Motion Carried

ITEM 04: APPOINTMENT OF TAX COMMISSION: Resolution #91-109. Discussion regarding Tom Yellow Wolf, and Ervin Lee and Joan Hilleran.

Vice chairman Hall made a motion to approve the appointments of Tom Yellow Wolf Ervin Lee and Joan Hilleran to the Tax Commission, seconded by Secretary Rabbithead.

Vote: 4 for, 0 opposed, 1 not voting. Motion Carrie

- b. Any appointment which does not begin coincident with this scheme will be shortened to the time necessary to maintain the pattern of staggered terms.
- c. A vacancy in the Tax Commission, whether caused by death or incapacity, disqualification, resignation, or removal, will be filled in the manner prescribed in this Section.

whereas, In compliance with Section 207 and 208(1.) the Chairman of the Tribal Business Council has nominated the following persons for Tax Commission Membership:

Tom Yellow Wolf (Resident Tribal Member) (1 Yr. Term)
Ervin J. Lee (2 Yr. Term)
Joan Hilleren (Resident Tribal Member) (3 Yr. Term)

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes hereby confirms the appointment of the initial Tax Commission Members as listed.

CERTIFICATION

I, the undersigned, as Secretary of the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, hereby certify that the Tribal Business Council is composed of 7 members of whom 5 constitute a quorum, 5 were present at a secretary of the day of 1991; that the foregoing Resolution was duly adopted at such Meeting by the affirmative vote of 1 members, 0 members opposed, 0 members abstained, 1 members not voting, and that said Resolution has not been rescinded or amended in any way.

Dated the 3nd day of July, 1991.

Secretary, Fribal Business founcil

Chairman, Tribal Business Council