## Resolution #84- 309-C

RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES OF THE FORT BERTHOLD RESERVATION

WHEREAS, This Nation having accepted the Indian Reorganization Act of June 18, 1934, and the authority under said Act; and

WHEREAS, the Constitution and Bylaws of the Three Affiliated Tribes authorizes and empowers the Tribal Business Council to engage in activities for the welfare and benefit of the tribes and tribal members; and

WHEREAS, Governor-Elect George Sinner reserves the right to appoint the membership of the State of North Dakota's various governmental boards, commissions, advisory councils, etc.; and

WHEREAS, the Three Affiliated Tribes has an interest in the composition and functioning of most of the existing boards, commissions, advisory councils, etc.; and

WHEREAS, the Tribal Business Council and Tribal staff have studied the duties and composition of each, and have considered their relative importance; and

WHEREAS, certain of the boards, commissions, and advisory councils are critical to the Three Affiliated Tribes in its quest to improve the economic development, natural resource development, and Health and Human development status of the Fort Berthold Reservation

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes hereby approves the attached priority listing of candidates to the respective North Dakota State Boards, Commissions, and Advisory Councils.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Priority Listing shall be submitted to Governor-Elect George Sinner for his consideration.

## CERTIFICATION

I, the undersigned, as Secretary of the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, hereby certify that the Tribal Business Council is composed of 11 members of whom 7 constituting a quorum, <u>10</u> were present at a <u>Seclar</u> Meeting, thereof duly called, noticed, convened, and held of the <u>18</u> day of <u>December</u> 1984; that the foregoing resolution was duly adopted at such meeting by the affirmative vote of <u>10</u> members, <u>0</u> members opposed. <u>0</u> members abstained. <u>6</u> members not voting. and

## COMPREHENSIVE PLANNING MANAGEMENT TEAM NATURAL RESOURCES CONFERENCE ROOM THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES TRIBAL ADMINISTRATION BUILDING FORT BERTHOLD RESERVATION

## DECEMBER 18, 1984

PRESENT: KEN DEANE JR., MICHAEL YELLOW BIRD, CHRISTOPHER QUALE, CELESTE EAGLEMEN, MIKE CROSS, ARNIE GUIMONT, STEPHEN FRANCIS

OTHERS: LORRAINE MUTCHLER - RECORDING SECRETARY

COMMITTEE/BOARD APPOINTMENTS BY THE GOVERNOR - PRIORITY RANKING

- 1. Economic Development Commission Alyce Spotted Bear
- 2. JTPA Mike Cross
- 3. State Health Council Mike Yellow Bird
- 4. Board of Higher Education Angelita Felix
- 5. Game and Fish Advisory Board Allen McKay
- North Dakota Beef Commission John "Buzz" Fredericks
- 7. Social Service Board Dani Deane
- 8. Committee on Children and Youth Susan W. Paulson
- 9. State Board of Public School Education Joletta Bird Bear
- 10. Postsecondary Education Commission Bennett Yellow Bird
- 11. State Historical Society Board Pemina Yellow Bird

- 12. State Alcohol Council Maynard Good Bear
- 13. Advisory Board to the Bank of North Dakota John Fox, Jr.
- 14. North Dakota Council on the Arts Kathy Whitman
- 15. Commission on Judicial Qualifications Nathan Paul Good Iron