# THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES TRIBAL BUSINESS COUNCIL TRIBAL CHAMBERS

## Judicial Committee Meeting July 20, 1993

PRESENT: Wilbur D. Wilkinson, Chairman, Ivan Johnson,

Vice Chairman; John J. Rabbithead, Jr., Secretary; Austin Gillette, Councilmember, George Fast Dog,

Councilmember and LaVerne Brady, Recording

Secretary.

ABSENT: Roger Bird Bear, Treasurer and Jim Mossett,

Councilmember.

OTHERS: P. Diane Avery, Judge; Fayann Moberg, Clerk of

Court; Edith Likes Eagle, Court Administrator;

Anthony Hale, Jr., Chief Judge.

ITEM 01: UPDATE BY JUDGE AVERY:

ITEM 02: CALL TO ORDER:

Meeting called to order at 4:18 PM.

ITEM 03: ROLL CALL:

Roll called by Secretary Rabbithead.

Quorum established.

ITEM 04: RESTRUCTURING OF TRIBAL COURT:

A document signed by all the councilman which

needs to be approved.

Chairman Wilkinson entertained motion.

Committee Member Gillette made motion to approve,

seconded by Committee Member Johnson.

Vote: 5 for, 0 opposed. Motion Carried.

ITEM 05: JURY LIST SELECTION:

Fayann Moberg, Clerk of Court was present to have

the Councilmembers pick for the jury.

For the Record: The Jury List Selection will be

made by drawing at random.

Judicial Committee Meeting July 20, 1993 Page two

#### ITEM 06: DISCUSSION:

Judge Avery was asked if she had anything else to present. She stated she was only here to do update and she understands that she does not have authorization to negotiate or to even accept an offer but to bring issues back to Judiciary Committee.

The budget will have to be looked at with Edith and see its' affordability.

Councilman Gillette made a motion to authorize Judge Avery to negotiate for expediation purposes seconded by Councilman Fast Dog.

Chairman Wilkinson acknowledged motion and second.

Vote: 5 for, 0 opposed. Motion Carried.

Judge Avery will report back to the Council when she finds out more information.

Discussion regarding budget.

#### JURY LIST SELECTION: ITEM 07:

The following names were drawn by the respective Councilmembers:

John J. Rabbithead:

Robert Baker.....New Town Tione Chase.....New Town Crystal Hale.......Roseglen Diane Poitra.....Roseglen i. Tracy Smith......Mandaree Janice Kerzman.....Garrison Svea Holen......Twinbuttes James Hall......Mandaree Anna Voight......Halliday

Wilbur D. Wilkinson: Gary Dickens.....WhiteShield Charles Smith.....Parshall Scott Eagle.....New Town Sonya Berget..... New Town Ardie Hawkins.....WhiteShield Debra LaCroix.....WhiteShield

White? el

Judicial Committee Meeting July 20, 1993 Page three

CONTINUATION OF JURY	SELECTION: Vera BracklinParshall Anita GacklemanParshall Beverly WilkinsonWhiteShield Wallace HosieWhiteShield
Ivan Johnson:	Candace MeyersRoseglen Frances SmithMandaree Lena MalnourieGarrison Christine WhiteOwl.New Town Dale Crows BreastParshall Caroline Youngbird.Mandaree Clyde SmithMandaree Terry FredericksHalliday Bernadine YellowWolf.New Town Darryl FoxParshall
Austin Gillette:	Susie ChargingRoseglen Floyd WhiteWhiteShield Ethel ReedNew Town Joyce KruegerGarrison WaldronCrowsBreast.Parshall Karen SmithMandaree Lujuanna LaCroixRoseglen Linda BakerMandaree Sharon Lone FightMandaree Glenda EmbryNew Town
George Fast Dog:	EmeraldSpottedWolf.New Town Laura HuberGarrison Byron MatthewsNew Town Joyce YoungNew Town George YoungbirdMandaree Ronnie PerkinsGarrison Tara PriceGarrison Norma StaplesNew Town Rachael FoxNew Town Arnold Goodbird, Sr. New Town
Alternates:	Diana Lone FightNew Town Joe EveretteRoseglen Richard ChaseNew Town Delores Fredericks.Mandaree Marlene FoxMandaree

Judicial Committee Meeting July 20, 1993 Page four

### CONTINUATION OF JURY SELECTION:

Wayne White Bear...Roseglen Howard Wilkinson...Garrison Cleo Charging.....Roseglen Ken Fredericks, Jr.Halliday Ardel Baker.....New Town

Chairman Wilkinson entertained motion to approve the following jury list.

Secretary Rabbithead made motion to approve, seconded by Councilman Fast Dog.

Vote: 5 for, 0 opposed. Motion Carried.

ITEM 08: ADJOURNMENT:

Meeting adjourned at 4:32 PM.

Approved  Secretary, John J. Rabbithead, Jr.	Disapproved  S-24-93  Date
ATTEST:	
Chairman, Wilbur D. Wilkinson	Date