

RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES OF THE FORT BERTHOLD INDIAN RESERVATION

- A Resolution Entitled, "Appointment of the Panel of Judges for the MHA Nation Supreme Court"
- WHEREAS, This Nation having accepted the Indian Reorganization Act of June 18, 1934, and the authority under said Act and having adopted a Constitution and By-laws pursuant to said Act; and
- WHEREAS, The Constitution and By-laws of the Three Affiliated Tribes was adopted By the membership of the Tribes on May 15, 1936 pursuant to the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934 and duly approved by the Secretary of Interior; and
- WHEREAS, Article III of the Constitution of the Three Affiliated Tribes provides that The Tribal Business Council is the governing body of the Tribes; and
- WHEREAS, The Constitution of the Three Affiliated Tribes authorizes and empowers the Tribal Business Council to engage in activities on behalf of and in the interest of the welfare and benefit of the Tribes and of the enrolled members thereof; and
- WHEREAS, Pursuant to the inherent sovereignty of the MHA Nation, the MHA Nation possesses the sovereign authority to establish service contracts; and
- WHEREAS, Resolution No. 14-072-VJB, was passed June 13, 2013, which withdrew the MHA Nation as a member Tribe of the Northern Plains Inter-Tribal Court Appeals; and
- WHEREAS, Resolution No.13-096-VJB, requires the Supreme Court to consist of three
 (3) Supreme Court Justices to preside over appeals as provided by the Code of
 Laws of the Three Affiliated Tribes; and
- WHEREAS, The Tribal Business Council desires the Justices of the Three Affiliate Tribes to maintain exceptionally qualified judicial officers to uphold the laws and customs of the MHA Nation; and
- WHEREAS, The Tribal Business Council has selected licensed attorneys, Michelle Rivard Parks, to serve as Chief Justice of the MHA Nation Supreme Court, and the remainder of the panel of Supreme Court Justices shall consist of Thomas A. Dickson, James Maxson, John Mahoney, and William E. Woods.



NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the rate of compensation for the presiding Supreme Court Justices shall be Fifteen Hundred Dollars (\$1,500.00) per day, per court session. The rate of pay for researching and drafting court opinions and travel reimbursements shall be determined pursuant to the terms and conditions of their consultant agreements; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Tribal Business Council hereby directs the Fort Berthold District Court to prepare the appropriate consultant agreements, subject to legal department review, pursuant to the terms and conditions as identified above for each of the respective Supreme Court Justices.

CERTIFICATION

I, the undersigned, as Secretary of the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, hereby certify that the Tribal Business Council is composed of 7 members of whom 5 constitute a quorum, were present at a Regular or Special Meeting thereof duly called, noticed, convened, and held on the day of the foregoing Resolution was duly adopted at such meeting by the affirmative vote of day members, members opposed, members abstained, members not voting, and that said Resolution has not been rescinded or amended in any way.
Chairman [voting. [] not voting. Dated this 2tday of Warch, 2015.

ATTEST:

Tribal Secretary L. Ken Hall

Tribal Business Council Three Affiliated Tribes Tribal Chairman Mark N. Fox

Tribal Business Council
Three Affiliated Tribes