

RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES OF THE FORT BERTHOLD INDIAN RESERVATION

A Resolution Entitled: "Appointment of Tribal Business Council Standing Committees"

- WHEREAS, This Nation having accepted the Indian Reorganization Act of June 18, 1934, and the authority under said Act and having adopted a Constitution and By-laws under said Act; and
- WHEREAS, Pursuant to Article III, Section 1 of the Constitution and By Laws of the Three Affiliated Tribes, the Tribal Business Council is the governing body of the Tribes; and
- WHEREAS, Pursuant to Article VI, Section 5 (l) of said Constitution, the Tribal Business Council has the power to adopt resolutions regulating the procedures of the Tribal Business Council and other Tribal agencies and Tribal officials on the Reservation; and
- WHEREAS, The Tribal Business Council has authority to engage in activities on behalf of and for the welfare and benefit of the Tribes and of the enrolled members thereof; and
- WHEREAS, A Tribal General Election was held on November 2nd, 2010 and Tex G. Hall was elected as the Chairman of the Three Affiliated Tribes and the Tribal Business Council and the general election results were duly certified by the Tribal Election Board on November 3rd, 2010 and Tex Hall was sworn into the Office of Chairman on the same day; and
- WHEREAS, Barry Benson was elected to the office of Twin Buttes Segment Representative during said election and was sworn into office on November 4th, 2010; and
- WHEREAS, Mervin Packineau was elected to the office of North East Segment Representative and V. Judy Brugh was elected to the Office of Four Bears Segment Representative during the primary election held on September 21st and both have been sworn into their respective offices; and
- WHEREAS, The Tribal Business Council has established standing committees of the Tribal Council, including Judicial/Human Resources; Natural Resources; Health; a Economic Development/Education; and

Resolution No. 10-004 -VJB/TH



WHEREAS, Article III. Section 5 of the Tribal Constitution provides that within three (3) days after the installation on the successful candidates for Council positions elected at the general election, the newly constituted Tribal Business Council shall meet and may appoint from within its members such committees as it may find necessary; and

WHEREAS, the newly constituted Tribal Business Council conducted its first meeting on November 5th 2010, and appointed its committee members for the above referenced committees; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Tribal Business Council in accordance with Article III, Section 5 of the Tribal Constitution herby appoints and establishes the following individuals to the Standing Committees of the Tribal Business Council:

- 1. Natural Resources: Chairman Arnold Strahs Member Barry Benson Member V. Judy Brugh
- 2. Judicial /Human Resources: Chairman Mervin Packineau Member Arnold Strahs Member, V. Judy Brugh
- 3. Health: Chairperson, V. Judy Brugh Member, Scott Eagle, Member, Barry Benson
- 4. Economic Development/Education: Chairman, Scott Eagle Member, Frank Whitecalfe, Member, Arnold Strahs

(The remainder of this page is intentionally left blank)



CERTIFICATION

I, the undersigned, as Secretary of the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, hereby certify that the Tribal Business Council is composed of 7 members of whom 5 constitute a quorum, $\underline{6}$ were present at a Special Meeting thereof duly called, noticed, convened, and held on the $\underline{5^{th}}$ day of <u>November</u> 2010; that the foregoing Resolution was duly adopted at such Meeting by the affirmative vote of $\underline{6}$ members, $\underline{0}$ members opposed, $\underline{0}$ members abstained, $\underline{0}$ members not voting, and that said Resolution has not been rescinded or amended in any way.

Chairman [X] voting. [] not voting.

Dated this 5th day of November 2010.

Tribal Secretary, V. Judy Brugh Tribal Business Council Three Affiliated Tribes

ATTEST

Tribal Chairman Tex G. Hall Tribal Business Council Three Affiliated Tribes