RESOLUTION NO. 05-01NH



## RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES OF THE FORT BERTHOLD INDIAN RESERVATION

## A Resolution entitled, "Tribal Business Council Appointment to the Board of United Tribes Technical College".

- WHEREAS, This Nation having accepted the Indian Reorganization Act of June 18, 1934, and the authority under said Act; and
- WHEREAS, The Three Affiliated Tribes Constitution authorizes and empowers the Mandan, Hidatsa & Arikara Tribal Business Council to engage in activity on behalf of and in the interest of the welfare and benefit of the Tribes and of the enrolled members thereof; and
- WHEREAS, The United Tribes of North Dakota ("United Tribes") is an association of the five federally recognized Tribes located in North Dakota, each of which has a government-to-government relationship with the United States established by Treaty, including the Three Affiliated Tribes, the Sisseton Wahpeton Oyaté, the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, the Spirit Lake Tribe and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa, with a Board of Directors composed of the Chairman and one council member from each member Tribe; and
- WHEREAS, United Tribes exists to assist in furthering the common goals of the North Dakota Indian Tribes and Nations; and
- WHEREAS, The UTTC Board is ten members comprised of the Tribal Chairman or President of North Dakota's Five Tribes and one appointed member from each Tribe; and
- WHEREAS, Former Councilman Austin Gillette served as the Three Affiliated Tribes' appointed member of the UTTC Board; and
- WHEREAS, the Tribal Business Council desires to appoint councilman Mervin Packineau to replace Austin Gillette to the Board of UTTC.
- **NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Tribal Business Council hereby appoints Councilman Mervin Packineau to replace Austin Gillette as the Three Affiliated Tribes' respresentative on the UTTC Board and Councilman Frank White Calfe as the alternate Board member.



## CERTIFICATION

I, the undersigned, as Secretary of the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation hereby certify that the tribal Business Council is composed of seven (7) members of whom five (5) constitute a quorum, <u>5</u> were present at a <u>Meanuev</u> Meeting thereof duly called, noticed, convened and held on the <u>18</u> day of, 2005, that the foregoing Resolution was duly adopted at such meeting by the affirmative vote of <u>5</u> members, <u>0</u> members opposed, <u>0</u> members abstained, <u>2</u> members not voting, and that said Resolution has not been rescinded or amended in any way.

Chairman [X Voting. [] Not Voting.

Dated this 18 day of January, 2005.

Tribal Secretary, Nathan Hale Tribal Business Council Three Affiliated Tribes

ATTES/

Chairman, Tex G. Hall Tribal Business Council Three Affiliated Tribes