**Resolution No. 03-162-DSB** 

Ensona es

0.3-184-197



## RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES OF THE FORT BERTHOLD INDIAN RESERVATION

## A Resolution entitled, "NORTHWEST VENTURE COMMUNITIES, INC."

- WHEREAS, This Nation having accepted the Indian Reorganization Act of June 18, 1934 and the authority under said Act; and,
- WHEREAS, The Three Affiliated Tribes Constitution authorizes and empowers the Mandan, Hidatsa and Arikara Tribal Business Council to engage in activities on behalf of and in the interests of the welfare and benefit of the people; and,
- WHEREAS, Article VI, Section 5(d) of the Constitution of the Three Affiliated Tribes provides that the Tribal Business Council shall have the power to negotiate with the federal, State, and local governments on behalf of the Tribes, and to advise and consult with the representatives of the Interior Department on all activities of that Department that may affect the Fort Berthold Reservation; and,
- WHEREAS, The Northwest Area Foundation, St. Paul, MN, has selected Northwest Venture Communities, Inc. (NVCI) as a potential regional partner to reduce poverty and improve the quality of life in Bottineau, Burke, McHenry, McLean, Mountrail, Pierce, Renville, and Ward Counties, and Fort Berthold Reservation, which not only includes portions of McLean, Mountrail and Ward Counties, but also includes portions of McKenzie, Dunn and Mercer Counties; and,
- WHEREAS, The eight (8) counties first listed and Fort Berthold Reservation are actively participating in this project and working together on a common plan to reduce poverty and improve the quality of life in the Northwest Venture Communities regional area; and,
- NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, That the Three Affiliated Tribes specifically supports the composition of the NVCI Board of Directors, pursuant to Article IV, Section 1 of the NVCI Bylaws; and,
- FURTHER, BE IT RESOLVED, That the governing body of the Three Affiliated Tribes' herewith expresses this support by nominating the following tribal representatives to sit on the initial NVCI Board of Directors, as follows---Delores White, Bruce Nagel, Marian Spotted Bear, June Lockwood, Ed Hall, Adam "Tony" Mandan, with the seventh (7<sup>th</sup>) member, to be nominated from the Parshall/Lucky Mound District, to be written in, as follows:
- FURTHER, BE IT RESOLVED, Once this nominee list is complete, it shall be presented at the NVCI First Annual Meeting scheduled for June 17, 2003, for confirmation; and,

1

2



FINALLY BE IT RESOLVED, That the Three Affiliated Tribes' (Mandan Hidatsa Arikara) existing programs will collaborate to assist in support of this effort.

## CERTIFICATION

I, the undersigned, as Secretary of the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation hereby certify that the tribal Business Council is composed of seven (7) members of whom five (5) constitute a quorum, six (6) were present at a **Regular** Meeting thereof duly called, noticed, convened and held on the **28<sup>th</sup>** day of April 2003, that the foregoing Resolution was duly adopted at such meeting by the affirmative vote of six (6) members, no (0) members opposed, no (0) members abstained, no (0) members not voting, and that said Resolution has been amended, as requested by the Tribal Business Council, and has not been rescinded.

(Chairman Voting)

Dated this 28<sup>th</sup> day of April 2003.

ATTEST:

T.J. Ru

Daylon Spotted Bear Acting Executive Secretary Tribal Business Council Tex G. Hall Chairman Tribal Business Council