

A RESOLUTION ENTITLED

"A RESOLUTION TO REAPPOINT THE TRIBAL ELECTION BOARD FOR THE NOVEMBER 5, 2002 GENERAL ELECTION FOR THE FOLLOWING POSITIONS - TRIBAL CHAIRMAN; TWIN BUTTES COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE; FOUR BEARS COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE; PARSHALL/LUCKY MOUND COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE."

- WHEREAS, This Nation having accepted the Indian Reorganization Act of June 18, 1934, and the authority under the said Act; and
- **WHEREAS,** The Constitution of the Three Affiliated Tribes generally authorizes and empowers the Tribal Business Council to engage in activities on behalf of and in the interest of the welfare and benefit of the Tribe's and of the enrolled members thereof;
- WHEREAS, Part 1, Article III, Section 2 of the Tribal Election Ordinance provides for the election of six segment representatives and for the Chairman on the Tribal Business Council;
- WHEREAS, The Primary Election and the General Election are scheduled for September 17, 2002 and November 5, 2002 respectively;
- **WHEREAS,** The Secretary of the Business Council has duly published the Notice of Election in accordance with Part II, Section 2 of the Tribal Election Ordinance;
- WHEREAS, Part V, Section 1(A) of the Tribal Election Ordinance requires the Tribal Business Council to appoint a Tribal Election Board (TEB) constituted by five (5) qualified voters, none of whom is a member of the Tribal Business Council, an employee of the Three Affiliated Tribes, and employee of the Department of Interior, a candidate for Tribal Office, or a close relative of a candidate for Tribal office as defined within said section;
- WHEREAS, Part V, Section 1(A) of the Tribal Election Ordinance requires that the Tribal Business Council designate one of the five appointees as Chairperson of the Tribal Election Board;
- WHEREAS, On August 8, 2002, the Tribal Business Council via Resolution #02-134MWJR, appointed five people and two alternates to the Tribal Election Board.

- WHEREAS, The TEB informed Malcolm Wolf, the New Town/Little Shell Segment Representative that his choices were unable to serve. Councilman Wolf then appointed Mona Bear to the TEB.
- WHEREAS, On August 9, 2002, Daylon Spotted Bear, realized that his segment did not have a person on the TEB. He then made a request to the Tribal Business Council to appoint Evan Burr, Jr. to the TEB for the Twin Buttes Segment.
- WHEREAS, On August 14, 2002 the Tribal Business Council met to clarify Resolution #02-134MWJR. The TEB appointed Evan Burr, Jr. to the TEB and moved Melvina Fredericks, to a Clerk II position.
- WHEREAS, The revised August 14, 2002 Resolution #02-134MWJR fails to include Mona Bear as a member of the TEB.
- WHEREAS, It has been the policy of the Tribal Business Council to have the TEB be composed of six people each of whom represents one of the six segments, with five of the six persons comprising the Election Board and the remaining person being the Clerk for the Board.
- WHEREAS, Carla Wilson who was appointed to represent the Four Bears Segment on August 8, 2002 resigned for personal reasons on August September 23, 2002.
- WHEREAS, The Three Affiliated Tribes held its Primary Election for the Chairman, and the Representatives for the Twin Buttes, Four Bears and Parshall/Lucky Mound Segments.
- WHEREAS, On September 18, 2002 the TEB certified the results of the September 17, 2002 Primary Election were certified by the following five people all who were listed on Resolution #02-134MWJR as members of the TEB:
 - 1. Evan Burr, Jr., Chairperson
 - 2. Laurie Kraft
 - 3. Carla Wilson
 - 4. Melvina "Mabel" Fredericks
 - 5. Mona Bear
- WHEREAS, The Tribal Business Council now wishes to clarify Resolution #02-134MWJR as to who will be the TEB members and who are the clerks for the TEB for the General Election.
- WHEREAS, The Tribal Business Council now wishes to ratify the actions of the TEB on September 18, 2002:

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Tribal Business Council hereby ratifies the actions of those members of the TEB wherein it certified the September 17, 2002 Primary Election on September 18, 2002;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Tribal Business Council hereby accepts the resignation of Carla Wilson from the TEB effective as September 23, 2002;

FURTHER, BE IT RESOLVED, the Tribal Business Council hereby rescinds Resolution #02-134-MWJR and reappoints the following five qualified voters as members of the Tribal Election Board for the 2002 General Election:

TRIBAL ELECTION BOARD MEMBER

- 1. Evan Burr, Jr.
- 2. Melvina "Mabel" Fredericks
- 3. Theodora Star
- 4. Mona Bear
- 5. Laurie Kraft

SEGMENT REPRESENTIVE

Twin Buttes Mandaree Four Bears New Town/Little Shell Parshall/Lucky Mound

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED, that the Tribal Business Council hereby appoints the following two qualified voters as Clerks for the Tribal Election Board for the 2002 General Election:

TRIBAL ELECTION BOARD MEMBER SEGMENT REPRESENTATIVE

1.	Marti Stevenson-Clerk No. I	White Shield
2.	Carla Wilson-Clerk No. II	Four Bears

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED, the Tribal Business Council hereby appoints the following individual from the above members of the Tribal Election Board to act as the Chairperson of the 2002 Tribal Election Board.

1. Evan Burr, Jr.

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED, that the Tribal Election Board is hereby directed to fulfill its duties as prescribed by Part V of the Tribal Election Ordinance.

CERTIFICATION

I, the undersigned, as Secretary of the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation hereby certify that the Tribal Business Council is composed of seven (7) members of whom five (5) constitute a quorum, were present at a <u>minim</u> Meeting thereof duly called, noticed, convened and held on the <u>3010</u> day of <u>supermu</u> 2002, that the foregoing Resolution was duly adopted at such meeting by the affirmative vote of <u>()</u> members, <u>0</u> members opposed, <u>0</u> members abstained, <u>0</u> members not voting, and that said Resolution has not been rescinded or amended in any way.

Chairman [\sqrt{Voting} . [] Not Voting. Dated this 30^{m} day of Supremeasurements, 2002.

Executive Secretary, Marcus Wells, Jr. Tribal Business Council

ATTEST:

Chairman/Tex G. Hall Tribal Business Council