Resolution No. 01-28must.

## RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE THREE AFFILIATED TRIBES OF THE FORT BERTHOLD INDIAN RESERVATION

- WHEREAS, This nation having accepted the Indian reorganization Act of June 18, 1934 and authority under said Act; and
- WHEREAS, this Constitution of the Three Affiliated Tribes generally authorizes and empowers the Tribal Business Council to engage in activities on behalf of the Tribes and of the enrolled members thereof; and
- WHEREAS, the Tourism and Independence Development Center is coordinating an effort gain National Scenic Byway Designation from the United States Department of Transportation for roadways located on the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation; and
- WHEREAS, the Fort Berthold Lewis and Clark Bicentennial Committee "officially" designated the following roadways the *Sakakawea Trail*: HWY 1804 West to White Shield, ND, continuing on HWY 37 North to Parshall, ND and HWY 23 West to New Town, ND, through to HWY 22 South to Mandaree, ND and on to the Little Missouri River continuing to Twin Buttes, ND via HWY 200 East and HWY 8 North; and
- **WHEREAS,** "Official" recognition by the Three Affiliated Tribes Business Council will provide certification and endorsement for the *Sakakawea Trail* to be featured in various publications as well as a step forward to achieving National Scenic Byway Designation; and
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the Three Affiliated Tribes Business Council declares the portions of the following roadways, that are located within the boundaries of the Fort Berthold Reservation, known as the *Sakakawea Trail*, as the *Three Affiliated Tribes Scenic Byways*: HWY 1804 West to White Shield, ND, continuing on HWY 37 North to Parshall, ND and HWY 23 West to New Town, ND, through to HWY 22 South to Mandaree, ND and to the Little Missouri River, and HWY 8 North to Twin Buttes, ND.

## CERTIFICATION

I, the undersigned, as Secretary of the Tribal Business Council of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, hereby certify that the Tribal Business Council is composed of 7 members of whom 5 constitute a quorum, \_\_\_\_\_ were present at a Regular Meeting thereof duly called, noticed, convened, and held on Thursday, February 8, 2001; that the foregoing Resolution was duly adopted at such Meeting by the affirmative vote of \_\_\_\_\_ members \_\_O\_\_ opposed, \_\_O\_\_ member abstained, \_\_\_\_\_ members not voting, and that said Resolution has not been rescinded or amended in any way.

Dated the 8<sup>th</sup> day of February, 2001.

Secretary, Tribal Business Council

**ATTEST:** Chairman, Tribal Business